Home » Bronies » Bronies: An Outsider’s Opinion Part 2

Bronies: An Outsider’s Opinion Part 2


Welcome to Part 2 of my Bronies series! Here are the next couple of interviews! I’d love to hear your thoughts and comments in the section below. 


Total Krazen
Tell me about how you got into this fandom? What is the draw?
It was a few years ago and I was messing around on another community website known as “Furaffinity” When I noticed that a few of the artists I was following at the time had began to draw the characters from what I know today as My Little Pony. I took no mind to it as well.. I was used to creation, and things like this were the usual. However a few weeks later I had noticed a lot of negative replies start to flood the artists. Just as most I was curious, so I started reading (always a bad idea) Very quickly I learned why everyone was upset. The members of the site felt as though the MLP fandom was beginning to “invade”. I at that point had seen quite a bit of the pony stuff beginning to peak it head out and I was curious. At first I had to judgment to it. I soon found a link to a few episodes and started watching away….. Then I realized I needed food or I was going to die… so I took a break. At that point I was ecstatic! I had found another compelling piece of my anthro world and decided I was going to start drawing for ir it as well. The rest is history (Meh) But I would say that the draw was in the creativity or me. Another awesome show for me to draw and spend time with.

What are the best and worst things about this fandom?
I would say the best things about our fandom and the worst is very closely related things. On one side you have the people who share a genuine love for the show and it’s morals. The people who understand enough about themselves and what is around them and they accept it. Even people who are really into the show can express themselves appropriately and work off of some common grounds. On the flip side you have the general fandom that represents itself in a hurtful manner. By either not being genuine or by letting personal gain get in the way of a biased community. By people who understand this they stick out like a sore thumb. However most people can be in this form of social understanding that even they may not realize how they are representing both themselves and others. Or may not care.
Are you open about liking MLP or is it something you keep to yourself, why?
I am very open about my liking to the show. In fact I co-own a media company based off of the show. We work out of a local city and most people are aware of our standing as we work with them. Plus have to have that “swag”
Obviously, being a Brony comes with its fair share of stigmas and issues. What is something that you’d like to tell people who prematurely judge you for being a Brony?
It matters not what I say, as it has all been said every which way it can be. We live in a progressive time, and either we will fall into place alongside what is to come and we will not. These things are very fragile and extremely fluid.
Is there anything else you’d like to add about Bronies and/or MLP?
Honestly, there is not much more to say, all that you are going to get from the fandom will be with your own experience. Go out there, have a great time with an awesome marine dressed as snowflake, and possibly meet mr. Spaghetti, either way you will make those decisions for yourself and thats what it is all about… and OH YEAH Blackjack is best Horsey

Bamawing
Tell me about how you got into this fandom? What is the draw?
I love all things animated, and I was a big fan of My Little Pony as a girl. I got into the cartoon easily enough and the fandom came a little later, when I met a few bronies and realized that I wasn’t alone. I think the biggest draw is knowing that you’re not alone; that other people are just as crazy as you are. That’s not limited to bronyhood, either, really… I think that’s a big draw in any community.

What are the best and worst things about this fandom?

 The best thing about this fandom is the talent. Once you start to dive into it you can easily get overwhelmed with the sheer amount of fanart, fanfic, fan-made videos, and everything else Bronies have to offer. Truly amazing stuff.
 The worst thing is the reputation. People give me tolerant smiles since I’m female and always liked cartoons. But I’ve had to explain many times that I didn’t go to a convention full of paedophiles. Seriously.

Are you open about liking MLP or is it something you keep to yourself, why? 
 I’m open about it. Being a girl helps. Well, being a post-girl helps. I’m older than I look and a lot older than I act. I’m actually employed at a ferry that serves primarily tourists, and I have pony buttons on my hat. Adults don’t usually comment, but every prepubescent girl notices my Pinkie Pie.

Obviously, being a Brony comes with its fair share of stigmas and issues. What is something that you’d like to tell people who prematurely judge you for being a Brony?  
 No really, I don’t hang out with paedophiles! I promised a coworker that I’d keep an eye out for any creepy looking guys at Bronycon, and I did. I’m glad, too, because I can honestly say I was looking for and didn’t see a single person who gave me bad vibes. None.

What I did notice was a higher rate of people with disabilities. (There were a lot of service dogs – and one service pig – dressed as Spike, which was awesome.) But it wasn’t until a young man talked to us at a plushie panel that I really put a finger on something. He said, “plushies… You can look at their faces. They won’t hurt you.” It reminded me of my grad school studies on autism. Actually, it makes a lot of sense: someone with autism would be really helped by the nonthreatening, explicit social lessons of MLP. Of course, getting them to generalize that into their own lives might be a challenge, but I’d love to see a study done on the effects of MLP on the lives of its socially impaired viewers. (Sorry… I’ve got a Master’s of special ed; I’m gonna geek out over scientific studies.)

Is there anything else you’d like to add about Bronies and/or MLP?
  If you can’t be bothered to watch the show, do a YouTube search on original MLP videos. That’ll give you an idea of the scope of the fandom. You’ve got parody and you’ve got homage and everything in between. Some of it’s pure crap but some is professionally done.

Support my loot crate addiction!
Follow on BloglovinPhotobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Leave a Reply

