Home » Personal » The Nerdy Fox Gets Real

The Nerdy Fox Gets Real

So, if you follow my twitter, you might have seen my tweet about getting my first mean message from a reader/blogger/follower, yesterday. I’ve decided to address the main points that really bothered me.

1. “You’re not even nerdy. You’re a try hard.”
Ha. Well, honestly, I’m more nerdy than I let on. I saw Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring 22 times in theatres. Let me say that again, I saw LotR:FotR TWENTY TWO times in theatres. I have a pikachu tattooed on my arm. I have a giant dragon on my back inspired by Smaug. I play video games on a daily basis. I read comics. I read fantasy. I love Sci-Fi. I love space. I love action figures. I love Funko Pop! figures. I LOVE Star Wars, Star Trek, LotR, Harry Potter, and many, many other movies/books. I have always, and will continue to be, as real as I am. If that isn’t good enough for you, then you don’t have to read my blog.

2. “You’re a feminist using posts to get hits.”
the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men.” 

You’re right, I want to be on the same level as men. Show me a “professional” blogger that doesn’t use hot topics to get hits. We’re all in the for the same reason. I choose to write about things that I am legitimately concerned about and/or interested in. The fact that I get called a “fat slut” or told to that I “belong in the kitchen” on voice chat when playing a game with a dude, isn’t acceptable to me. I wanted to be treated with the same amount of respect as anyone else. I can handle smack talk. I can dish out some smack talk. But there is a fine line between playing around and just being a chauvinistic pig. 

3. “You write when it’s convenient for you. You can’t even be considered a real blogger because you stop posting.” 
You’re right. I write when I can. I post when I can. Let me let you in on a little secret – I have a life outside of my blog. Crazy, I know. I would love to post daily here. I would love to write an article a day/outfit a day – and I hope to get back to that. Right now, I am busy. BUSY. The most busy I’ve been in a really long time. I hope that my readers stick around with me through the next couple of weeks until things calm down. If not, I understand. Not only do I have a real life outside of the internet, I also get bouts of depression that make me literally not care about things like this. 

I’m realizing that the blogging world is a cruel place with catty women. I don’t understand why it has to be like this. I will always support the blogs that I read – successful or not. The funny thing is, the same thing happens in the crafting world. I’ve been attending local farmers markets and there is definitely another “soaper” that is doing similar things to me. She tried to scare me away from selling and now when we’re both at the same location, she gives me the cold shoulder when I’ve literally done nothing but try to be nice and supportive. 

Lesson learned: Not everyone is nice. 


I hope my readers take something away from this. I just wanted to address the “concerns” of this particular reader. I hope that the readers I still have are on my side and understand that life gets the better of us sometimes. I also hope that my readers can take something from them and realize that there is a real person behind a blog and most of us read every single comment, email, remark, and review and the nasty comments still hurt us.  

On a happier note: I will be post as much as I can over the next two weeks but after those weeks I should be back to posting daily! If you haven’t already entered my giveaway, please do! Feel free to share it on your facebook, twitter, and instagram. 😉

and take a moment to read this post about the acer tablet. 

I hope that you all have a lovely Tuesday! 
 
Support my loot crate addiction!
Follow on BloglovinPhotobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

13 thoughts on “The Nerdy Fox Gets Real

  1. What's wrong with being a feminist blogger?! I just don't understand why people take the time to write mean comments and put bloggers down. Why waste time on that? If it's not your cup of tea, move on to the next blog.

    And Heck yeah to seeing fotr 22 times in theaters. That takes dedication

    Like

  2. Way to be awesome about this and stand up for yourself. It's possible that the commenter won't read this or reply to it if they do, but I think it's important that we take a stand against cruelty in whatever way we can. You rock 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

