Home » Personal » Identity

Identity

I feel like I’ve been MIA for a bit. I feel so overwhelmingly busy that I can’t handle it. Between working on my etsy shop and running kids to practices and whatnot.. I feel like I just have zero time. I’ve been homesick for Utah for … a while and I couldn’t figure out why. I mean aside from the obvious – I grew up there. Of course I am going to miss it. But, I feel like I shouldn’t miss it as much as I do… I had an epiphany last night about it, though.  The south is insanely different than Utah. There are so many things that I don’t understand. However, the main thing that makes me homesick is that people constantly are asking me if I’m from “up north” & calling me a “yankee” and it is really messing with how I identify myself. I’m not from “up north” — I’m from out west. I’m from Utah. I’m not a Yankee.

As soon as they find out I’m from Utah, the immediately tell me about their snow storm last year. And any input I have about their version of a bad storm, I just don’t understand because “snow freezes here” and then they get black ice. It takes so much for me to not be like, “Yeah, snow does that. Just because it’s humid as f*ck here doesn’t mean that we don’t get black ice in Utah.” Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure that it was a bad storm. Alabama isn’t equipped to deal with snow like Utah is. I understand that completely. But, I grew up with snow. I’ve never had a snow day where you get to stay home from school because it snowed.Like…. ever. I think we had one “optional” day but the schools never closed down. Our stores don’t close down because of the snow. Believe me, I understand snow.

The point of this story is that I’m labelled as this “yankee” from “up north” that doesn’t understand the woes of their weather. It’s not who I am. I am a girl from Utah who doesn’t understand the insane obsession with high school/college football.

Isn’t Utah pretty?

Have you guys ever had something like this – Where you’re identified as someone that you’re not? How’d you deal with it?
Support my loot crate addiction!
Follow on BloglovinPhotobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Leave a Reply

