Home » games » Game Music Discussion

Game Music Discussion


How vitally important is music in a game to you? Music affects your brain in more ways than you think it does. It obviously has an impact on your emotions and it even affects how we see “neutral” faces. It can improve our creativity and can trigger memories. That being said, how do you think music affects your gaming experience?

Personally, I hate admitting this, but I generally don’t listen to game soundtracks for very long. Wait, before you all flame me, I listen to the soundtrack during important parts but I cannot just listen to the music constantly – especially if it is a game like Skyrim where the soundtrack is AMAZING but it starts to feel repetitive and therefore makes the game start to feel repetitive for me.  If it is a game that I’ve played for a long time, I don’t listen to the soundtrack. I don’t listen to the sound track in MMO’s unless I’m in a dungeon for the first time… I own very few game soundtracks and seldom listen to them. Not because I don’t enjoy them, but because I hate getting worn out on the OST.
There are so many games that you can hear a few notes from and it instantly takes you back to that game – Zelda, Mario, Halo… It is always such an important part of the atmosphere of the game that I feel guilty leaving it out. It really makes a good game, great and memorable.  There are games like Limbo where there is a distinct lack of audio that makes you feel really uneasy about certain parts of the game and it just blows my mind when I think about how much I love all of that game, the audio, the art and even the gameplay. 
The point is I wonder how much I’m missing by not listening constantly to a game’s audio. I understand how much a gamer is influenced by the OST and I’m starting to wonder if I am just being defiant by not listening to the music or if it is something else. I’ve played a number of MMOs and we all know how annoying the music is in those, right? I could blame it on that or I could blame it on my very specific music tastes or… I can just say that I’m a rebel without a cause at heart and hate feeling forced to do something because somebody wants me to do it.
Discussion:
What are some of your favorite game soundtracks?
How do you feel about game soundtracks, do you listen to them or just mute them? Why?

 photo shnsghnsynsthnsthnshn_zps8e0cc23e.png

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Game Music Discussion

  1. I tend to listen to game soundtracks that are more electro based than orchestral soundtracks. The soundtracks for Starwhal: Just The Tip, Hotline Miami & Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon have all been on heavy rotation for me while I work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

