Home » Cons » Cosplay Tips and Tricks

Cosplay Tips and Tricks

When I first started cosplaying, I didn’t really research anything. I just made a costume and wore it. It was stressful, hard, and I wanted to cry by the end of it. It was a blast, don’t get me wrong, I just wasn’t prepared. I wasn’t prepared for the pictures, I wasn’t prepared for my costume to break, I wasn’t prepared to be  hugged and touched by strangers, and above all, I wasn’t prepared to smell so bad. I’ve made a list of my cosplay survival kit for conventions to share with you… in hopes that you’re first experiences aren’t like mine!

  1. Deodorant. I keep two kinds with me – a stick and a spray. You’ll be sweaty. You can’t avoid that. You’ll be in front of cameras and in a room jam-packed full of sweaty people. You’ll want to spray deodorant on places that are super prone to sweat (lower back, thighs, etc) and of course, the stick for your armpits. I use this body deodorant spray. You need to be careful to find one that doesn’t leave a white residue on your skin as it can (and usually will) stain your costume.
  2. A sewing kit. These can be found just about anywhere but I recommend one like this. It’s small and has everything you could need to quickly fix your costume. 
  3. Makeup kit. Something small, like this, that has a variety of colors in case of smudges or when you’re in need of a retouch and that has a mirror! I
  4. A bag of wisps or a toothbrush and toothpaste. At some point, you’re probably going to eat and you’ll probably be eating convention food. Your breath will smell and you’ll wish you had something to brush with.
  5. A hair/wig kit. Again, something small, that has bobbypins, hairspray, and a brush in case your wig/hair needs a touchup.
  6. A bag to put all your junk in. Something you can spot easily, like this totoro bag, and that you don’t mind carrying around.

Remember, you’re going to be in a million pictures, so smile and have fun with your costume! 

 photo shnsghnsynsthnsthnshn_zps8e0cc23e.png

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

