Home » Cosplay » My First Cosplay

My First Cosplay

In high school I was OBSESSED with Lord of the Rings. I went to midnight premiers, camped out to get movie tickets, was in a LotR discussion group at the Barnes and Noble. I learned to write in Elvish and was even on a LotR chat room most nights. I’m still friends with a couple of those people I met online.

My little group of friends were getting ready to go to one of the midnight premiers and decided that we were going to dress up. I had no idea what cosplay was or even that it was a thing. I just knew that I was excited and that I was going to be an elf. I was obviously on a very strict budget of almost nothing because I was in high school. I basically up-cycled a dress that I wore to my sisters wedding into a dress that I thought an elf would wear. I added sleeves that came to a point like these but not as dramatic:

Unfortunately I only have two pictures and they’re not that great.

I wasn’t trying to be any specific elf. I took elements from both Galadriel and Arwen and made it my own. I was pretty please with how it turned out. I wish I had better pictures of the sleeves. I didn’t use a pattern for any of it and I remember being so proud of the sleeves.

For my first cosplay, I think I did pretty well. I had no idea it was going to lead me to such an awesome community.

 photo shnsghnsynsthnsthnshn_zps8e0cc23e.png

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

